Skip to content
Providers · Plate 4

KVM Linux machines billed per resource, with a documented setup that runs GitHub-triggered CI on fresh machines restored from a snapshot of the last green main run.

Operated by Azin Tech Operating Company B.V. boxd.sh Status: active[1] Checked 31 Oct 2026

CI runners

boxd CI runners (automation recipe, GitHub checks)

Compare CI runners
Lowest price
unknown
no published price
5-min job
not ranked
Linux x64, 2 vCPU · price unknown
Billed
Per second
prepaid credit
Sizes
3 sizes
Linux · 1–4 vCPU

What to know

  • PrepaidYou buy credit up front. Whether unused credit expires is not published.

Prices

boxd CI runners (automation recipe, GitHub checks): runner sizes and prices
SizevCPURAMPrice
1 vCPU / 4 GiBLinux x64 14 GB unknown[2]Billed per resource ($0.047/vCPU-hour + RAM in use + disk written); no per-size price is published in USD
2 vCPU / 8 GiB (default)Linux x64 28 GB unknown[2]Billed per resource ($0.047/vCPU-hour + RAM in use + disk written); the FAQ gives only an approximate $0.21/hour at full memory
4 vCPU / 16 GiBLinux x64 416 GB unknown[2]Billed per resource ($0.047/vCPU-hour + RAM in use + disk written); no per-size price is published in USD
  • boxd does not sell a per-size CI price: machines bill $0.047 per vCPU-hour (full vCPU count while running), $0.014 per GiB-hour of RAM in use and $0.000096 per GiB-hour of disk written (EUR 0.039, 0.012 and 0.00008).
  • The pricing FAQ puts a default 2 vCPU / 8 GiB machine at about $0.21 an hour at full memory while it runs.
  • CI is a documented recipe, not a hosted runner label - an automation script and a config file start one machine for the checks and one per test shard, then post a GitHub check.
  • The FAQ lists 1, 2 and 4 vCPU sizes as self-serve and 8 vCPU / 32 GiB on request; the CI page says up to 8 vCPU / 32 GiB per job.
  • Vendor claim, not verified by Roost: 6x faster than one GitHub-hosted job and 5x faster than one Blacksmith job (medians over 10 open-source projects on 2 vCPU machines, boxd sharded across machines; boxd benchmarks page).
  • Self-hosting is free up to 16 vCPUs; BYOC and larger machines are by contract.

Terms

Billing

Payment
Prepaid credit[2]
Plan minimum
None[2]
Billing increment
Per second[2]
Minimum charge
None[2]
Per-job fee
None[2]
Credit expires
unknown[2]Not on pricing, FAQ or terms pages
Credit refundable
unknown[2]Terms say fees for services already provided are not refundable; unused credit is not addressed

Limits

vCPU
unknown[3]Not on pricing, FAQ or CI pages
Concurrent jobs
unknown[3]Machine quota, not a job limit, and pages disagree: 50 per organization (FAQ) vs 100 machines included (pricing); it counts hibernated machines and forks
Max job length
Unlimited[3]

Setup

Setup billed
unknown[3]Job machines are metered per second while they run; whether restore and checkout time counts is not stated
Billed setup per job
unknown[3]Not published

Platform

CI systems
Other[4]
Hosting
Managed[4]
Regions
Germany[4]

Free allowance

Minutes a month
None[2]
Credit a month
None[2]
One-time credit
$30[2]

Cache

Included
unknown[3]Snapshots are the cache; no included snapshot storage is stated
Extra storage
unknown[3]Snapshot storage price not stated; machine disk bills $0.000096 per GiB-hour written
Docker layer cache
Yes[3]
Persistent disks
Yes[3]

Features

SSH debugging
unknown[4]Every boxd machine takes SSH, but the CI guide does not say whether job machines can be kept or entered for debugging
Static IPs
unknown[4]Not on pricing, FAQ or CI pages
GPU runners
No[4]
SOC 2
No[4]

Sources

  1. 1 boxd.sh/use-cases/ci-runners · 31 Oct 2026
  2. 2 boxd.sh/pricing · 31 Oct 2026
  3. 3 docs.boxd.sh/use-cases/ci-runners · 31 Oct 2026
  4. 4 boxd.sh/faq · 31 Oct 2026

Raw data: JSON