# boxd

KVM Linux machines billed per resource, with a documented setup that runs GitHub-triggered CI on fresh machines restored from a snapshot of the last green main run.

- Operated by: Azin Tech Operating Company B.V.
- Status: Active [1]
- Website: https://boxd.sh
- Categories: CI runners
- Checked: 31 Oct 2026

## boxd CI runners (automation recipe, GitHub checks) (CI runners)

- Lowest price: unknown (no published price)
- 5-min job: not ranked (Linux x64, 2 vCPU · price unknown)
- Billed: Per second (prepaid credit)
- Sizes: 3 sizes (Linux · 1–4 vCPU)

What to know:

- Prepaid: You buy credit up front. Whether unused credit expires is not published.

### Billing

- Payment: Prepaid credit [2]
- Plan minimum: None [2]
- Billing increment: Per second [2]
- Minimum charge: None [2]
- Per-job fee: None [2]
- Credit expires: unknown (Not on pricing, FAQ or terms pages) [2]
- Credit refundable: unknown (Terms say fees for services already provided are not refundable; unused credit is not addressed) [2]

### Limits

- vCPU: unknown (Not on pricing, FAQ or CI pages) [3]
- Concurrent jobs: unknown (Machine quota, not a job limit, and pages disagree: 50 per organization (FAQ) vs 100 machines included (pricing); it counts hibernated machines and forks) [3]
- Max job length: Unlimited [3]

### Setup

- Setup billed: unknown (Job machines are metered per second while they run; whether restore and checkout time counts is not stated) [3]
- Billed setup per job: unknown (Not published) [3]

### Platform

- CI systems: Other [4]
- Hosting: Managed [4]
- Regions: Germany [4]

### Free allowance

- Minutes a month: None [2]
- Credit a month: None [2]
- One-time credit: $30 [2]

### Cache

- Included: unknown (Snapshots are the cache; no included snapshot storage is stated) [3]
- Extra storage: unknown (Snapshot storage price not stated; machine disk bills $0.000096 per GiB-hour written) [3]
- Docker layer cache: Yes [3]
- Persistent disks: Yes [3]

### Features

- SSH debugging: unknown (Every boxd machine takes SSH, but the CI guide does not say whether job machines can be kept or entered for debugging) [4]
- Static IPs: unknown (Not on pricing, FAQ or CI pages) [4]
- GPU runners: No [4]
- SOC 2: No [4]

### Prices

| Size | OS | Arch | vCPU | RAM | Disk | CPU | Plan | Price | Per minute |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 vCPU / 4 GiB | Linux | x64 | 1 | 4 GB | 100 GB | unknown | any | unknown (Billed per resource ($0.047/vCPU-hour + RAM in use + disk written); no per-size price is published in USD) [2] | – |
| 2 vCPU / 8 GiB (default) | Linux | x64 | 2 | 8 GB | 100 GB | unknown | any | unknown (Billed per resource ($0.047/vCPU-hour + RAM in use + disk written); the FAQ gives only an approximate $0.21/hour at full memory) [2] | – |
| 4 vCPU / 16 GiB | Linux | x64 | 4 | 16 GB | 100 GB | unknown | any | unknown (Billed per resource ($0.047/vCPU-hour + RAM in use + disk written); no per-size price is published in USD) [2] | – |

- boxd does not sell a per-size CI price: machines bill $0.047 per vCPU-hour (full vCPU count while running), $0.014 per GiB-hour of RAM in use and $0.000096 per GiB-hour of disk written (EUR 0.039, 0.012 and 0.00008).
- The pricing FAQ puts a default 2 vCPU / 8 GiB machine at about $0.21 an hour at full memory while it runs.
- CI is a documented recipe, not a hosted runner label - an automation script and a config file start one machine for the checks and one per test shard, then post a GitHub check.
- The FAQ lists 1, 2 and 4 vCPU sizes as self-serve and 8 vCPU / 32 GiB on request; the CI page says up to 8 vCPU / 32 GiB per job.
- Vendor claim, not verified by Roost: 6x faster than one GitHub-hosted job and 5x faster than one Blacksmith job (medians over 10 open-source projects on 2 vCPU machines, boxd sharded across machines; boxd benchmarks page).
- Self-hosting is free up to 16 vCPUs; BYOC and larger machines are by contract.

## Sources

[1] https://boxd.sh/use-cases/ci-runners/ (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[2] https://boxd.sh/pricing/ (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[3] https://docs.boxd.sh/use-cases/ci-runners (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[4] https://boxd.sh/faq/ (checked 31 Oct 2026)
