# Deno Sandbox

Firecracker microVM sandboxes on Deno Deploy, started from a JavaScript or Python SDK and billed on the Deploy plan's CPU-time and memory meters.

- Operated by: Deno Land Inc.
- Status: Active [1]
- Website: https://deno.com/deploy/sandbox
- Categories: Agent sandboxes
- Checked: 31 Oct 2026

## Deno Sandbox (Agent sandboxes)

- Price: $0.1 /vCPU-h (+ $0.025 per GB-hour)
- 1-hour session: ≥ $0.3 (2 vCPU / 4 GB · rank 23 of 26)
- Fleet month: ≥ $2,660 (50 × 8 h × 22 days)
- Billed on: Active CPU (increment unknown)
- Isolation: Firecracker microVM (sessions up to 30 min)

What to know:

- Active-CPU billing: Only CPU in use is billed, so idle time costs less; the light-use column shows how much.
- $20/mo plan: This price only applies on a plan of at least $20 a month.
- Max session 30 min: A sandbox is stopped after 30 min.
- Max 3 running: At most 3 sandboxes run at the same time.

### Plans

- Pro: $20 /month; Sandboxes, 3 concurrent per region, 5 GiB volume storage; shared Deploy meters include 50 h active CPU, 750 GiB-h memory, 200 GiB egress [2]
- Builder: $200 /month; 20 concurrent sandboxes per region, 50 GiB volume storage; shared Deploy meters include 500 h active CPU, 7,500 GiB-h memory, 2,000 GiB egress [2]

### Billing

- Payment: Monthly plan with included usage [2]
- Plan minimum: $20 a month [2]
- Billing increment: unknown (Memory is billed for each second loaded; the CPU-time rounding is not published) [2]
- Minimum charge: unknown (Not published) [2]
- Per-job fee: None [2]

### Runtime

- Billed on: Active CPU [2]
- Isolation: Firecracker microVM [2]
- Max session: 30 min [2]
- Concurrent sandboxes: 3 [2]
- Largest vCPU: 2 [2]
- Largest memory: 4 GB [2]

### Lifecycle

- Survives a stop: Nothing (ephemeral) [4]
- Snapshots: Yes [4]
- Pause and resume: No [4]
- Fork: Disk copy [4]
- Compute billed while stopped: unknown (There is no paused state; a sandbox runs until its session or timeout ends) [4]
- Auto-stop: unknown (Default lifetime is the client session; no idle timeout is published) [4]
- Start time (vendor claim): 200 ms [4]

### Capabilities

- GPU: No [3]
- Desktop: None [3]
- Coding agents installed: None [3]
- Agent prompt API: No [3]
- SSH: Yes [3]
- Docker inside: unknown (Not mentioned in the sandbox docs) [3]
- SDKs: TypeScript, Python, CLI, REST [3]
- SOC 2: Yes [3]

### Storage and network

- Disk included: 10 GB [2]
- Extra disk: $0.2 per GB-month [2]
- Snapshot storage: unknown (Not published) [2]
- Egress: $0.2 per GB [2]

### Platform

- Regions: ams, ord [3]
- Your cloud (BYOC): unknown (Not stated on the sandbox pages) [3]
- Self-host: unknown (Not stated on the sandbox pages) [3]

### Free allowance

- Minutes a month: None [2]
- Credit a month: None [2]
- One-time credit: None [2]

### Prices

| Resource | Price | Per hour |
|---|---|---|
| per vCPU | $0.1 /h [1] | $0.1 |
| per GB of memory | $0.025 /h [1] | $0.025 |

- Sandboxes are not available on the Free plan. Compute bills through the same CPU, memory and egress meters as Deno Deploy, so the plan's included hours are shared with Deploy apps.
- CPU is priced per hour of active CPU time and memory per GiB-hour; the per-plan included amounts are listed on the Deploy pricing page.
- Each sandbox has 2 vCPUs, 768 MB to 4096 MB of memory (1.2 GB default) and 10 GB of ephemeral disk.
- Volumes (300 MB to 20 GB, ord region only) persist across sandboxes; read-only snapshots made from volumes can boot many sandboxes at once.
- "Under 200ms" start time is a vendor claim from the product page.

## Sources

[1] https://deno.com/deploy/sandbox (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[2] https://deno.com/deploy/pricing (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[3] https://docs.deno.com/sandbox/ (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[4] https://docs.deno.com/sandbox/volumes/ (checked 31 Oct 2026)
