# GitHub Actions vs RunsOn: prices, plans and limits (Nov 2026)

GitHub Actions and RunsOn side by side for ci runners: 17 terms differ. Every value links to the provider's own page.

## CI runners

| Term | GitHub Actions | RunsOn |
|---|---|---|
| Billing: Payment | Metered: usage billed afterwards [1] | Monthly plan with included usage [2] |
| Billing: Plan minimum | None [1] | unknown (Annual licence only, no monthly price: Starter $350/yr (EUR 300/yr) on the pricing page's USD view) [2] |
| Billing: Billing increment | Per minute (rounded up) [1] | Per second [2] |
| Billing: Minimum charge | 60 s [1] | unknown (Compute is billed by AWS; RunsOn's pages don't state a minimum per instance) [2] |
| Billing: Per-job fee | None [1] | None [2] |
| Limits: vCPU | unknown (GitHub's runner and billing docs do not say whether runner vCPUs are dedicated or shared) [3] | unknown (Depends on the EC2 instance family you choose; not stated by RunsOn) [4] |
| Limits: Concurrent jobs | 20 [3] | unknown (No RunsOn cap is published; concurrency is bounded by your own AWS EC2 vCPU and spot quotas (rate-limits docs)) [4] |
| Limits: Max job length | 6 h [3] | unknown (Not stated on RunsOn pricing or docs pages) [4] |
| Setup: Setup billed | No [3] | unknown (Compute is billed by AWS; the pricing page says you only pay while a job is running but doesn't say how instance boot time counts) [4] |
| Setup: Billed setup per job | 0 s [3] | unknown (Not published) [4] |
| Platform: CI systems | GitHub Actions [5] | GitHub Actions [6] |
| Platform: Hosting | Managed [5] | Your cloud (BYOC) [6] |
| Platform: Regions | unknown (GitHub does not list runner regions; Linux and Windows run on Azure (eligible Linux jobs also on AWS), macOS in Azure data centers) [5] | us-east-1, us-east-2, us-west-2, eu-west-1, eu-west-2, eu-west-3, eu-central-1, ap-northeast-1, ap-southeast-1, ap-southeast-2 [6] |
| Free allowance: Minutes a month | None [7] | None [2] |
| Free allowance: Credit a month | $12 [7] | None [2] |
| Free allowance: One-time credit | None [7] | None [2] |
| Cache: Included | 10 GB [7] | None [8] |
| Cache: Extra storage | $0.07 per GB-month [7] | unknown (Cache lives in an S3 bucket in your own AWS account, billed by AWS) [8] |
| Cache: Docker layer cache | No [7] | Yes [8] |
| Cache: Persistent disks | No [7] | Yes [8] |
| Features: SSH debugging | No [9] | Yes [10] |
| Features: Static IPs | Yes [9] | Yes [10] |
| Features: GPU runners | Yes [9] | Yes [10] |
| Features: SOC 2 | Yes [9] | No [10] |

### GitHub Actions: plans and limits

- Free: Free; at once 20, included $12 [11]
- Pro: $4 /month; at once 40, included $18 [12]
- Team: $4 per user /month; at once 60, included $18 [11]
- Enterprise: $21 per user /month; at once 500, included $300 [11]

### RunsOn: plans and limits

- Free non-commercial: Free; at once ? [13]
- Starter: $350 /year; at once ? [13]
- Growth: $1,050 /year; at once ? [13]
- Scale: $2,100 /year; at once ? [13]
- Sponsorship: $4,200 /year; at once ? [13]

## Sources

[1] https://docs.github.com/en/billing/reference/actions-runner-pricing (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[2] https://runs-on.com/pricing/ (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[3] https://docs.github.com/en/actions/reference/limits (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[4] https://runs-on.com/docs/control-plane/rate-limits/ (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[5] https://docs.github.com/en/actions/concepts/runners/github-hosted-runners (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[6] https://runs-on.com/installation/flex/ (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[7] https://docs.github.com/en/billing/concepts/product-billing/github-actions (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[8] https://runs-on.com/docs/performance/caching/docker/ (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[9] https://docs.github.com/en/enterprise-cloud@latest/organizations/keeping-your-organization-secure/managing-security-settings-for-your-organization/accessing-compliance-reports-for-your-organization (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[10] https://runs-on.com/legal/license/ (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[11] https://github.com/pricing (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[12] https://docs.github.com/en/get-started/learning-about-github/faq-about-changes-to-githubs-plans (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[13] https://runs-on.com/pricing/ (checked 1 Nov 2026)
