# boat vs E2B: prices, plans and limits (Nov 2026)

boat and E2B side by side for agent sandboxes: 22 terms differ. Every value links to the provider's own page.

## Agent sandboxes

| Term | boat | E2B |
|---|---|---|
| 1-hour session | ≥ $0.018 (2 vCPU / 4 GB · rank 3 of 28) | ≥ $0.166 (2 vCPU / 4 GB · rank 16 of 28) |
| Fleet month | ≥ $158.40 (50 × 8 h × 22 days) | ≥ $1,607 (50 × 8 h × 22 days · on Pro) |
| Billing: Payment | Monthly plan with included usage [1] | Metered: usage billed afterwards [2] |
| Billing: Plan minimum | $20 a month [1] | None [2] |
| Billing: Billing increment | Per second [1] | Per second [2] |
| Billing: Minimum charge | unknown (Not on pricing, billing, limits or FAQ pages) [1] | unknown (No minimum billed duration on the pricing page or the billing docs) [2] |
| Billing: Per-job fee | None [1] | None [2] |
| Runtime: Billed on | Running time [1] | Running time [2] |
| Runtime: Isolation | unknown (Each sandbox is its own VM with its own kernel; the hypervisor is not named on the machines, virtualization or security pages) [1] | Firecracker microVM [2] |
| Runtime: Max session | 720 h [1] | 1 h [2] |
| Runtime: Concurrent sandboxes | 100 [1] | 20 [2] |
| Runtime: Starts | 12/min · 60/h · 200/day, then from $0.03 each [3] | 60/min, then refused [4] |
| Runtime: Largest vCPU | 16 [1] | 8 [2] |
| Runtime: Largest memory | 32 GB [1] | 8 GB [2] |
| Lifecycle: Survives a stop | Disk [5] | Disk and memory [6] |
| Lifecycle: Snapshots | Yes [5] | Yes [6] |
| Lifecycle: Pause and resume | Yes [5] | Yes [6] |
| Lifecycle: Fork | Disk copy [5] | Memory and processes [6] |
| Lifecycle: Compute billed while stopped | No [5] | No [6] |
| Lifecycle: Auto-stop | after 1 h [5] | after 5 min [6] |
| Lifecycle: Start time (vendor claim) | unknown (No figure published; docs say a resume or fork is ready in a few seconds) [5] | 150 ms [6] |
| Capabilities: GPU | No [7] | No [8] |
| Capabilities: Desktop | Desktop (VNC) [7] | Computer-use API [8] |
| Capabilities: Coding agents installed | Claude Code, Codex, Pi, OpenCode, Hermes, OpenClaw, Cursor Agent, Prime Agent, Kimi Code, Mistral Vibe [7] | Amp, Claude Code, Codex, Devin, Droid, Grok Build, Hermes, Muse Code, OpenCode, Pi, Prime Agent [8] |
| Capabilities: Agent prompt API | Yes [7] | No [8] |
| Capabilities: SSH | Yes [7] | Yes [8] |
| Capabilities: Docker inside | Yes [7] | Yes [8] |
| Capabilities: SDKs | Python, TypeScript, CLI, REST [7] | Python, TypeScript, CLI, REST [8] |
| Capabilities: SOC 2 | No [7] | Yes [8] |
| Storage and network: Disk included | 51 GB [1] | 10 GB [9] |
| Storage and network: Extra disk | Free [1] | Free [9] |
| Storage and network: Snapshot storage | unknown (Not priced per GB: automatic snapshots are free; saved snapshots past the plan's count cost $0.056 per snapshot per day) [1] | unknown (Pricing page and billing docs give no price for stored snapshots or paused sandboxes; they only say paused sandboxes cost no compute) [9] |
| Storage and network: Egress | Free [1] | unknown (Not on the pricing page or in the billing docs) [9] |
| Platform: Regions | Germany, Finland, France [10] | us-west-1, us-west-2, eu-west-1, ap-southeast-1 [11] |
| Platform: Your cloud (BYOC) | unknown (No own-cloud or VPC option on any page of the docs index (llms.txt); not stated either way) [10] | Yes [11] |
| Platform: Self-host | unknown (No open-source or self-hosted runtime on any page of the docs index (llms.txt); not stated either way) [10] | Yes [11] |
| Free allowance: Minutes a month | None [12] | None [9] |
| Free allowance: Credit a month | None [12] | None [9] |
| Free allowance: One-time credit | unknown (The 7-day trial (card required) gives 25 compute hours in total, not a dollar credit) [12] | $100 [9] |
| Cross-provider tools: Sandbox SDK | Supported [13] | Supported [13] |

### boat: plans and limits

- $20: $20 per user /month; at once 100, included $20, starts 12/min · 60/h · 200/day, largest 8 vCPU [14]
- $100: $100 per user /month; at once 300, included $100, starts 30/min · 210/h · 840/day, largest 16 vCPU [14]
- $500: $500 per user /month; at once 1,000, included $500, starts 65/min · 420/h · 1,680/day, largest 16 vCPU [14]
- $2000: $2,000 per user /month; at once 2,000, included $2,000, starts 90/min · 600/h · 2,400/day, largest 16 vCPU [14]

### E2B: plans and limits

- Hobby: Free; at once 20, starts 60/min, max session 1 h, largest 8 vCPU [15]
- Pro: $150 /month; at once 100, included None, starts 300/min, max session 24 h [15]
- Enterprise: unknown; at once ? [15]

## Sources

[1] https://docs.boat.dev/pricing.md (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[2] https://docs.e2b.dev/billing (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[3] https://docs.boat.dev/limits.md (checked 1 Nov 2026)
[4] https://docs.e2b.dev/sandbox/rate-limits (checked 1 Nov 2026)
[5] https://docs.boat.dev/snapshots/stop.md (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[6] https://docs.e2b.dev/faq/sandbox-lifetime (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[7] https://docs.boat.dev/integrated-agents.md (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[8] https://docs.e2b.dev/faq/security-and-compliance (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[9] https://e2b.dev/pricing (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[10] https://docs.boat.dev/compliance.md (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[11] https://docs.e2b.dev/byoc (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[12] https://docs.boat.dev/free-trial.md (checked 31 Oct 2026)
[13] https://sandbox-sdk.app/providers (checked 1 Nov 2026)
[14] https://docs.boat.dev/pricing.md (checked 1 Nov 2026)
[15] https://e2b.dev/pricing (checked 1 Nov 2026)
